First post? Politics of course….


With the Republican Primaries in full swing, I don’t believe there as anything more important or controversial to blog about than politics. However, I must provide a disclaimer that I am an independent, but if you ask conservatives that know me they will say I am a liberal. If you asks liberals that know me they will say I am conservative. It’s not so much that my political beliefs (notice I say political because religious beliefs have no business in politics) are an even mix of the two as it is that I am a firm believer that in order to take a side on an issue you must first have legitimately considered the alternative. So when discussing politics or issues in general, I will often argue the other side in order to get the other person to consider both positions, regardless of whether or not they are my own opinions. In my own evaluation of my ideals I would definitely say I lean more to the left.

Now with all of that being said, Santorum is the front-runner? My initial reaction was “WTF!?” but then again so has been my reaction with just about every change in the lead. My issues with him are similar to several of the others; his occasional idiotic claims/statements, speaking and acting in religious extremes, and related hypocrisy. Idiotic claims/statements? Heres a few that I will try to organize starting with just stupid and working to those that are both stupid and highly offensive to a lot of people.

1. He believes that increasing obesity rates are proof that Food Stamps are not necessary. (Regardless of your stance on this issue I HOPE that we can agree that this logic is ludicrous)

2. He has said that he will end all federal funding for contraception and allow states to out-law contraception if elected and stated that contraceptives are “a license to do things in a sexual realm that is counter to how things are supposed to be.”

3. For this one I take a quote from a speech in Texas in which he describes the beheadings in the French revolution as what will happen in America if Obama is re-elected. “What’s left in France became the guillotine. Ladies and gentlemen, we’re a long way away from that but if we do follow the path of President Obama and his overt hostility to faith in America, then we are headed down that road.”

4. No explanation or intro at all for this one, I’ll even give you a link to it.  “I find it almost remarkable for a black man to say ‘now we are going to decide who are people and who are not people.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=as2Z5K-eN4s

5. He has said that gay people cause problems in the military because they are living in close quarters with other people.

6. He has said that if he becomes president he will a null all same-sex marriages and is against providing any type of legal protection or benefits to same-sex relationships.

Again, these are just A FEW and I assure you it takes hardly any effort to find the countless others. Then there is also this current situation in which he and many other conservatives are complaining about a completely fabricated war on religion in America. This is largely arising from the recent health care legislation that requires religious affiliated institutions like hospitals, charities, and colleges to include contraceptives in their health coverage. Many of the religious conservatives are blowing the whistle claiming that it violates their 1st amendment to freedom of religion (but in reality it just requires the insurance provider to the institution, not the institution itself, to provide free contraceptive care). Rick Santorum pretty much summarized the concern when he said “This is simply someone trying to impose their values on somebody else with the arm of the government”. The only reason I do not bash this comment as ridiculous, stupid, idiotic, or a list of other labels I would like to assign to it is because sadly I know far too many people who would jump to support the statement. I will however label it as extremely hypocritical given his next quote that I also find to summarize the opinion of MANY conservatives, ” Rights come to us from God, and when God gives us rights, he doesn’t go ‘oh, here are your rights just do whatever you want to do with them’ in fact he has laws that we must abide by.” John Stewart summed it up best. “So your saying that we should all be free, to live by Christian Law.”

I end by once again saying that Religion has no place in Politics and Government. And for that reason the ONLY Republican nominee I would EVER CONSIDER voting for would be Mitt Romney and for not other reason than these statements he gave;

“I am an American running for president. I do not define my candidacy by my religion. A person should not be elected because of his faith nor should he be rejected because he believes in my Mormon faith and I endeavor to live by it. My faith is the faith of my fathers — I will be true to them and to my beliefs,”

“No candidate should become the spokesman for his faith. For if he becomes president he will need the prayers of the people of all faiths.”

Leave a Reply

